UK Travel eSIM: Plans for Britain and Ireland Trips

Coastal skyline and blue sea with an airplane overhead, used as a travel guide illustration.

Choose a UK travel eSIM by matching its supported countries to every stop on your itinerary, then compare data, validity and activation. For London followed by Dublin, look for both United Kingdom and Ireland in the plan's country list. A UK-only label or a broad “Europe” title does not establish that both destinations are included.

Three current plans and the trips they fit

Trips eSIM sells digital travel connectivity plans. These three selected product pages were checked on September 9, 2026, with prices in USD. They illustrate different allowances and country lists; this is not a complete market comparison or a network performance test. Recheck the linked page and checkout before purchasing.

Plan and source Data / validity Listed price Explicit supported regions Potential fit
Sparks UK & Ireland 7 GB 7 GB / 30 days US$10.10 United Kingdom, Ireland A smaller data budget across both countries
Sparks UK & Ireland 15 GB 15 GB / 30 days US$14.60 United Kingdom, Ireland More data for the same two-country route
eSIMGo UK 50 GB 50 GB / 30 days US$23.00 United Kingdom A larger allowance for a UK-only stay

All three pages state that activation starts with first data usage and list hotspot sharing and top-ups as supported. Available recharge sizes and prices are separate purchase checks. The displayed 5G / 4G LTE capability does not guarantee 5G reception or a specific speed.

The two Sparks plans list ordinary calls and SMS as unsupported. The eSIMGo page lists calls as supported and SMS as unsupported, but does not specify included minutes, call destinations or a supplied phone number. Confirm those details with support before choosing it for voice calling.

Check London, Edinburgh, Belfast and Dublin separately

Write down the country needed for each stop before comparing prices. London and Edinburgh require United Kingdom inclusion. Belfast is in Northern Ireland, part of the United Kingdom; Dublin requires Ireland inclusion. A trip that crosses between Belfast and Dublin needs both entries in the chosen package's supported regions.

Of the examples above, the two Sparks plans explicitly list both countries. The 50 GB eSIMGo option lists only the United Kingdom, so this guide does not recommend it as a single-plan solution for Dublin.

If Paris or Amsterdam comes next, add France or the Netherlands to your checklist. Neither UK-and-Ireland example above lists those countries. Compare a package whose actual country list contains every stop, or price separate plans for each part of the trip. The Europe multi-country eSIM guide explains how to compare that wider route.

Make the allowance match your own usage

Consider a ten-day London-and-Dublin visit. A traveler chooses a budget of 0.5 GB per day for their expected phone use and adds a 1 GB reserve: 10 × 0.5 + 1 = 6 GB. These are planning assumptions, not measurements of what maps or messaging apps consume.

The 7 GB Sparks allowance covers that target with 1 GB remaining. If the same traveler expects another 8 GB of laptop sharing or uploads, the target becomes 14 GB. The 15 GB option then fits, while the 7 GB option falls short. Its listed price is US$4.50 higher for 8 GB more data.

The 50 GB plan offers a larger allowance, but it does not solve the Ireland coverage requirement. Data volume cannot compensate for a missing destination. For a UK-only visit, compare it against your expected usage rather than assuming that more data is always better value. Use the travel data sizing guide to build your own budget.

Check local reception before a rural stay

A supported-country list is not a street-level coverage map. For UK accommodation and planned stops, Ofcom's Map Your Mobile shows predicted indoor and outdoor coverage by network. Ofcom explains that buildings, terrain and congestion can affect the connection you actually receive.

The three product pages identify the plan provider but do not name the underlying UK mobile network. Ask support which network the exact package uses before matching it to an Ofcom map. Do not treat “Sparks” or “eSIMGo” as proof of access to a particular UK network.

Save bookings and essential journey details before travel. Downloaded Google Maps areas can help, but Google's offline-map guidance says offline walking, cycling and transit directions are unavailable. Prepare city transport information separately.

Prepare the phone before departure

Check the exact device model and carrier-lock status. Apple explains that using a different carrier's travel eSIM requires an unlocked iPhone; its international eSIM guide shows where to check. For other devices, use the compatibility checklist and manufacturer guidance.

Follow the purchased plan's delivery and installation instructions, set the travel eSIM as the mobile-data line when needed, and review your home line's roaming settings. Installation and first data usage are different events. Read the installation and activation guide before enabling the plan.

Frequently asked questions

Does a UK eSIM include Ireland?

Only if that package lists Ireland. The two Sparks examples here do; the UK-only eSIMGo example does not.

Will a Europe eSIM work in the UK?

Check for United Kingdom in its supported-country list. A regional title alone is insufficient, and inclusion can differ between packages.

Is 7 GB enough for ten days?

It covers the explicit 6 GB example in this guide. It does not cover the 14 GB example with additional laptop use. Estimate your own needs first.

Do these plans provide a UK phone number?

The Sparks examples exclude ordinary calls and SMS. The eSIMGo page does not specify a supplied number or minute allowance despite listing call support. Confirm before buying if either is essential.